Big Ten semifinal trips: Zach Idey proves too much, Purdue beats Ohio State

Zach EddyA trophy case is filling up.

PurdueThe star center was named the 2023 Naismith College Player of the Year on Sunday.

Eddie won Player of the Year. Big Ten Player of the Year and Oscar Robertson Trophy for the game this season – 22.3 points and 12.9 rebounds per game on 60.7% shooting.

Check out the rest of the three 2023 Naismith Prize winners in the Naismith Starting Five below:

Player of the Year: Zach Idey, Purdue

The 7-foot-4 center led the Boilermakers to the No. 1 seed in the East Region before the No. 16 seed. Fairlie Dickinson In 2023, they shocked Purdue with an upset in the opening round NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Idey defeated other competitors Trace Jackson-Davis (Indiana), Jaylen Wilson (Kansas) and Drew Tim (Gonzaga) for this year’s Most Popular Award.

The best coach of the year is Jerome Tang Kansas State

Jerome Tang didn’t capture an NCAA Tournament title in his first season as head coach for the Wildcats, but he is bringing home the Naismith Coach of the Year Award. Tang turned Kansas State from a losing team to one over the past three seasons. Big 12 Earning the No. 3 seed in the East Region. The Wildcats made it all the way to the Elite Eight before eventually falling to the 9-seed Florida Atlantic.

Credit Tangs magnetic personality, A team-centered culture and successful use of the transfer portal led to a rapid and dramatic turnaround for Kansas State this season.

Player of the Year: Jaylen Clark, UCLA

Clark took home the Player of the Year award on Sunday, becoming the first Bruin to win the award. He also took home the Player of the Year award earlier this year after leading all Pac-12 players in steals (78).

UCLA has allowed the fewest points in a game among Pac-12 teams this year, thanks in large part to Clark. Unfortunately, his season ended early after suffering an Achilles injury, which kept him out of the Pac-12 and NCAA Tournament.

Clark will officially leave the ranks of the college as he is announced For 2023 NBA Draft on March 29.

Men’s first five

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame also announced the first five inductees for 2023.

Eddy with Jackson-Davis, Wilson; Marcus Sasser (Houston) and Marquis Nowell (K-State) All earned spots on college basketball’s best lineup.

Here’s the hardware each player took home on Sunday:

– Eday: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award
– Jackson-Davis: Karl Malone Award
– Wilson: Julius Erving Award
– Sasser: Jerry West Award
– Nowell: Bob Cousy Award

Read more:

follow Follow your favorites to personalize your FOX Sports experience

College basketball

Get more from college basketball Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *